Undergraduate Medical Education Committee (UMEC)

The APGO Undergraduate Medical Education Committee (UMEC) was established in 1965 and is a twelve-member committee that addresses issues of medical student education and faculty development in a changing health care environment.

The committee’s many accomplishments are visible throughout the country as medical educators utilize the resources it develops and attend the meetings it plans. The UMEC produces teaching tools, organizes faculty development seminars and promotes innovative teaching methods for continued excellence in undergraduate medical education.

Click here for information about UMEC membership opportunities. Must be an active APGO member to apply


  • Organizes educational programs at the annual Faculty Development Seminar and the CREOG & APGO Annual Meeting
  • Authors and updates the Medical Student Educational Objectives, the APGO OB-GYN Student Logbook, the Essential Learning Objectives in Women’s Health, Basic Science Prerequisites to a Clerkship in Obstetrics and Gynecology, Prerequisites to a Clerkship in Obstetrics and Gynecology: A Guide for Preclinical Educators, The Ob-Gyn Clerkship: Your Guide to Success, and the To the Point series (Click here for a list with links to the PUBMED.)
  • Coordinates and manages project task forces as assigned by the APGO Board of Directors
  • Participates in the Alliance for Clinical Education (ACE), a multidisciplinary group of undergraduate clinical teaching organizations;
  • Develops educational materials for medical school faculty; and
  • Develops online teaching and learning materials for medical students and faculty.

APGO Undergraduate Medical Education Committee

B. Star Hampton, MD
Women & Infants Hospital/Brown University

Susan M. Cox, MD
Dell Medical School,
University of Texas at Austin

LaTasha B. Craig, MD
University of Oklahoma – Oklahoma City

Elise N. Everett, MD, MSc
University of Vermont

Scott C. Graziano, MD, MS
Loyola University

B. Star Hampton, MD
Women & Infants Hospital/Brown University

Margaret L. McKenzie, MD, MS
Cleveland Clinic

Helen K. Morgan, MD
University of Michigan

Christopher Morosky, MD, MS
University of Connecticut

Celeste Royce, MD
Harvard-Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Shireen Madani Sims, MD
University of Florida-Gainesville

ACOOG Ex-Officio
Angela Fleming, DO
Beaumont Farmington Hills

APOG Representative
Laura Hopkins, MD, MSc
University of Ottawa