William N.P. Herbert, MD, Promising Educator Award

The award is based on participation in APGO meetings and activities, publications and other medical education presentations, contributions to medical education (e.g., teaching awards, educational committee involvement) and potential as a future leader in women’s health care education. Below is a list of the award criteria that will be used by the selection committee to make the final decision. Each year, qualified nominees will be asked to submit their CV and other materials which will be sent to the selection committee to determine the recipient. The Herbert Award is presented at the APGO Faculty Development Seminar in January of each year.

2020 William N.P. Herbert, MD
Award Recipient
Laura Mercer, MD
University of Arizona-Phoenix

Award Criteria

  • Membership in APGO for a minimum of the past two years
  • Full-time MD or PhD faculty position at an APGO member department for seven years or less since completion of all training
  • Rank of Instructor or Assistant Professor
  • Formal participation (speaker/presenter/workshop leader) in prior year’s and/or this year’s January Faculty Development Seminar
  • No current or prior service on the APGO Undergraduate Medical Education Committee (UMEC)
  • Not a previous winner of this award